2 minutes reading time (365 words)

LG Chem Power former CEO Dr. Prabhakar Patil inducted onto Ola Electric’s board

Dr. Prabhakar Patil, Member of the board, Ola Electric (Source: Ola Electric)

Ola Electric has announced that it has inducted Dr. Prabhakar Patil, former Chief Executive Officer of LG Chem Power onto its Board

Welcoming Dr. Patil onto the Board of Ola Electric Mobility, Bhavish Aggarwal, Founder, and CEO, Ola, said, "We are investing deeply in core R&D to create indigenous advanced cell technologies as well as invest into large scale manufacturing of batteries. I look forward to working closely with Dr. Prabhakar as we deepen our focus and investments into advanced cell research as well as large-scale manufacturing to build the best battery technologies right here in India and create a global EV hub with our Futurefactory at its center."

He added, "We have already applied for the government of India's $2.4 billion PLI scheme for developing advanced cells and will set up a cutting-edge cell manufacturing facility with up to 50 GWh capacity right here in India. Dr. Prabhakar's expertise will help us accelerate this process of bringing indigenously designed and manufactured cells to the market."

As part of the company's plans to ramp up its core R&D in advanced cell chemistry & manufacturing as well as other battery technologies and new energy systems, Ola Electric is scouting for opportunities around the world for strategic investments into companies focused on advanced cell chemistry research as well as other battery technologies that will enable the company to provide higher density and higher battery performance for its upcoming range of two and four-wheeler EVs.

Upon joining the Ola Electric Mobility Board, Dr. Patil said, "I am delighted to join the Ola team and to do what I can to support their quest to fundamentally transform major segments of India's electric mobility system to make it sustainable and self-reliant".

Dr. Prabhakar Patil joins Mr. Arun Sarin, former CEO, Vodafone Group, Mr. B V R Subbu, former President, Hyundai Motor India, Mr. Sumer Juneja, Managing Partner, SoftBank Vision Fund, Mr. Jaime Ardila Gomez, Former Executive VP and President of South America for General Motors, Mr. TVG Krishnamurthy on the company's Board, and Bhavish Aggarwal, Founder, and CEO, Ola. 

Author : IESA Admin
Universal Hydrogen, H3 Dynamics join forces for H2...
IIT-Hyderabad, Mobis India inks pact for joint res...